Ten Missouri Schools Receive National Blue Ribbon Honor


Ten Missouri schools have received the prestigious 2015 Blue Ribbon designation, the U.S. Department of Education announced Tuesday. Missouri ranked 10th, tied with Florida and Indiana, for number of Blue Ribbon schools.

The department selects the schools based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing the achievement gap among racial and economic groups of students.

The honored schools are:

Barbara Blanchard Elementary School, Cape Girardeau School District

New Haven High School, New Haven School District

Ralph M. Captain Elementary, Clayton School District

Ladue Middle School, Ladue School District

Truman Middle School, Lindbergh Schools

McKelvey Elementary, Parkway School District

West Middle School, Parkway School District

Kennard Classical Junior Academy, St. Louis Public Schools

St. Louis University High School, Catholic

Nerinx Hall High School, Catholic

See the full list of schools here.